Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
liasch

Displaying objects in small home

liasch
10 years ago
last modified: 7 years ago

Small house...and I am a collector! By small...1400 square feet, cottage style pitched roof, in which I am putting arts and crafts style windows. My sons tell me I have too much stuff. To be clear, this stuff is not dollar store; it is antiques, family heirlooms, Japanese ceramics my dad bought in 1948, lovely gifts from friends, etc. I have been downsizing and still have a lot of nice things, which I currently seasonally rotate through my house. I am also an artist, as well as other members of my family, and friend, so I have boatloads of original art...I am not a minimalist, but how can I make my house look less full of things, and still enjoy what I have? Houzz peeps...I will post some pics and maybe get some advice... :) btw the furniture arrangement pics are not current; will post more pics; this just gives a sense of the space and problem...

Comments (44K)

• liasch
    Original Author
    4 days ago

Tea outside but just in a mug this morning…I am missing my traditional tea cup. I am addicted to vintage linens. I’ve finally made myself stop collecting them and I really should get rid of the collection I have but I have a fascination with things that are handmade. I see all the work and time that went into them and feel they should be appreciated. There’s something about things that are handmade that is extra special. I have a tablecloth that came from my grandfather that is hand-embroidered likely from the old country. A.k.a. Germany. it’s amazing embroidery done on a net background and the net has torn in places and the tablecloth is huge. Oh I have to take some photographs of it. I’m trying to decide what to do with it.

• Alice Edwards
    4 days ago

Omg Lia, I knew she was a she! I so missed my typo 💗 please tell Mooze I’m sorry 😞 lol forgive forgive

• Alice Edwards
    4 days ago