Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
peggy924

(Creamy?) White Cabinets, Black Countertops, Carrera Marble Subway Tile Backsplash

peggy924
11 years ago
Help!! I am a total design novice! I am renovating my kitchen. The first pic is my "inspiration room." I love it but the white marble countertops are not so practical as I have 2 young kids. I am getting white cabinets and I want to do black countertops with a carrerra marble subway tile. (I am having dentil molding and an arched window over the sink too.)
However, my tile guy is making me have second thoughts about the marble backsplash since the doors are more of creamy white in person rather than the stark white in the brochure! (see attached image). What do you experts think??

Also, any ideas for floors? I would love to do dark wood but because it is adjacent to my DR oak floors (which flows into my LR), I don't want to have to refinish all of these floors. Any ideas would be greatly appreciated! TIA!!

Comments (14)

• peggy924
    Original Author
    11 years ago
    last modified: 11 years ago
    trying to attach actual cabinet that we ordered.

Ugh...picture won't attach but it is this cabinet (greenfield style) in Simply White (except the sample looks linen white so I am afraid it won't look great with a grayish marble!)
    http://www.stmartincabinetry.com/channel.asp?id=2
  • PRO
    Marie Meko, Allied ASID
    11 years ago
    Colonial cream is a granite that is a great combination of white and cream which would be closer to your inspiration photo. I would ask your contractor for the names of places to look at slabs in person. With the floors dark and the black counter tops the look would be very different from photo. Research counter tops before making the decision too quickly. It will time well spent. Take a sample of the cabinet color with you to help get an overall picture. Good luck!
  • peggy924
    Original Author
    11 years ago