Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
laurabarlett

I am completely perplexed on what to do with my family room kitchen area

barlett
11 years ago
The ceilings are incredibly high and the brass needs to go. Would like to put the tv over the fireplace and thinking about stone on the fireplace as well. Would love wood floor, dark and modern. Want to stay modern but not sterile. Kitchen is a whole other story

Comments (16)

• PRO
    Brickwood Builders, Inc.
    11 years ago
    I would put built-ins on either side of the fireplace. Run wiring above fireplace, wall in the niche up to the top of the upper "shelf" that now exists and hang TV over the mantle. The components for the TV would then go into the built-ins and be hidden. If you wish to use something to cover the fireplace, consider a white split-face marble to create the attached look.

[houzz=
    Original Flooring · More Info
    ]
  • Brooke Henderson
    11 years ago
    I am not an expert at all, but first look, you need built ins on both sides of the fireplace. It will house your media out of sight and if you put your vases there, it will be perfect pops of color. I think that to have the tv above the fireplace you need to build out the wall where the red vases are to be a flat surface and that should give you the room to hide cords and cables for the tv.. I think a piece of modern art that is tall would be perefect above the tv or finish the spot with stone or tiles. like this, but taller! good luck.
    Rustic Modern Kitchen and Family Room · More Info
  • PRO
    barlett
    Original Author
    11 years ago
    Define newly need built ins, any ideas on how to do this and make it modern, thinking floating shelves and a built in across the bottom?? I love the amble suggestion also
  • PRO
    barlett
    Original Author
    11 years ago
    Also was thinking about wood border in room with carpet in middle. Would the dark brown sectional clash with a dark wood floor?
  • 2dogssashatess
    11 years ago