Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
qofmiwok

House built not to code or plans

qofmiwok
7 years ago

Is there any recourse when a 20 year old house is found to be built not to plan or even to code? Does the city bear any responsibility since they signed off on work that any 1st year inspector could see was obviously not to code?

Comments (18)

• User
    7 years ago

It only has to be built to the code in effect at the time if the build. Not current codes. If it met code then, that is grandfathered in, until you make changes to the home now. Also, homes have changes made on the fly during construction all the time. Omit a wall there, put a door here. Happens all the time. That's not against code either.

What is not up to code?

• smileythecat
    7 years ago

I doubt it as well.

• Judy Mishkin
    7 years ago

well, it can depend a bit ...

so, our first house, we were total newbies. split entry, with the deck off the (second floor) dining room converted to a den. supports looked really spindly, owner claimed 'it met all codes'.

our inspector said it wasnt safe, my husband went to town hall and saw no permits were pulled for the conversion, owner had to upgrade supports as a condition of the sale. so, your situation might depend on what the owner/ owner's realtor told you about the condition.

• PRO
    The Kitchen Abode Ltd.
    7 years ago

If someone reno's a building without a permit when one is required that's not the cities fault. In that case you may have a case against the previous owner if you have proof that they said "it met all codes". I believe there are some jurisdictions that require the seller to disclose these things, if they do not or they make false statements then you could go after them.

Graham

• PRO
    GN Builders L.L.C
    7 years ago

20 year old house is not an old house and most likely 20 years ago nobody signed off on the plans which are not code compliant if that State follows adopted International building code.