Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
porsche_peak

Turn old lake restaurant into home???

Porsh G
16 days ago
last modified: 16 days ago

Hiii!

Okay, this is my first time back on houzz after 15 years, so apologies if this is an atypical question.

I was raised by an old carpenter and grew up watching this old house, etc., etc. so I’ve always desired a property that I could renovate, add to.

Well, I happened upon one. It’s an old restaurant that has been zoned into a single family property somehow.

We have a home but I would like to turn this into our primary residence and airbnb that one (it was my husband’s childhood home).

THE CONFLICT:

1. It would be a huge project.

2. It is next to a trailer park and I just don’t know how I feel about that many neighbors in such a condensed space/ lack of privacy/we have young children/ safety/ resell potential.

3. I have already drawn out what I envision and it would be beautiful.

4. It’s affordable ish and on a lake and maybe we could get it under asking so I could get a good renovation loan.

5. I really like my ideas and think it could be great, I just don’t want to regret it and be unhappy there.

*husband is indifferent as he is so happy about *his* childhood home, so he is supportive either way.

Comments (52)

• Paul F.
    16 days ago
    last modified: 16 days ago

Heating and cooling would concern me most since I can't imagine the windows are the best... and they are big. Do you have experience with radiant heating? Did you get a quote for the installation? The control rooms I've see here in socal are complicated looking for a 2500sqft house.

Can you run a business from there? I mean if you get in a bind it would be nice to turn it into a venue of some sort if you need to.

• Kendrah
    16 days ago