Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ladydub

Corian sink cracked - Repair? Replace?

ladydub
7 years ago

Here is a photo of a sink in a rental property that I just started managing (I'm a Realtor). The sink has two large cracks in the bottom. The sink is Corian and integrated with the Corian countertop.

I know virtually nothing about Corian. Is this something that can be repaired? If not, is it possible to cut out the sink and just install a new sink? I guess it would have to be undermount because of the drainboard. Or am I looking at having the entire counter and sink replaced? I called my go-to countertop company, but they mostly do granite and quartz and said this is not a job they would touch unless it was a total replacement.

Comments (21)

• PRO
    Joseph Corlett, LLC
    7 years ago
    last modified: 7 years ago

" Is this something that can be repaired?"

No. The sink must be replaced.

"If not, is it possible to cut out the sink and just install a new sink?"

Yes. I just estimated a job like this today in the $1,500.00 range including the sink and plumbing.

"I guess it would have to be undermount because of the drainboard. Or am I looking at having the entire counter and sink replaced?"

The countertop is fine, it doesn't need to be replaced, however, I'd recommend looking at the Staron (A2321) acrylic or the Karran Edge series as replacements.

This is what you're looking at. A drop-in Vault series Kohler will save you labor money if that's an issue.

I'd cut that top off and do all the work at the shop. Virtually no mess on site.

• PRO
    Taylor's Cabinets & Interiors
    7 years ago

Depending on how much counter top you have, spending that money on new counter might be a better option.

• PRO
    Joseph Corlett, LLC
    7 years ago

This was just over a thousand dollars and the customers provided the Vico stainless steel single bowl sink. It came with a nice grate for the bottom.

• PRO
    Joseph Corlett, LLC
    7 years ago