Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
webuser_200217986

Sun scald and early leaf loss on Autumn Blaze maple tree

David Williams
3 years ago

This is my Autumn Blaze maple tree. I would like to make my tree healthier. I had my soil tested recently and the pH was 7.8. The nutrient results were way out of whack! 5-19-494 were the results from multiple areas in the front yard. The ideal for bermuda. The ideal results they gave me 60-65-300. I did a tree bag gator during dry spells prior to this year. Now, I have a soaker hose that I allow to water for 2-3 hours.

Planted 6 years ago

Loses leaves early every year

Developed sun scald (or whatever that wound is) approximately 3 years ago

The wound is on the West side of the tree

The trunk has been wrapped for approximately 3 years as well.

I do apply a pest and fungal product in the spring.

I am in Zone 7 plant hardiness zone (Oklahoma)

The soil is very much clay. I have been adding gypsum for about 4-5 years.

My questions are:

Is my tree a goner?

If it is worth saving, should I wrap it year round? The wrap kinda seems like an eyesore in my front yard is why I ask

I know I need to do a better job with the nutrients, is there any specific thing I should be adding? I am thinking about adding sulfur to increase the acidity and of course a fertilizer. The fertilizers I have seen all increase the potassium which is already really high.

Comments (4)

• maifleur03
    3 years ago

Do not waste your time and effort. Something wounded the tree with the resulting bark split. You can not repair that type of damage now. You will always have a very weak tree.

As far as leaf loss trees will lose their leaves when they want to respond to weather conditions.

• David Williams
    Original Author
    3 years ago