Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
stephany_lozano

Suggestions on first time buying manufactured home

Hello! I an currently in the process of purchasing land for the first time and searching for a double wide to place on the land. this is my first time purchasing and would love to get some suggestions about absolutely anything related to buying a manufactured home, things you would have wished you knew before. I would also love to know how much is a normal interest rate? they seem so high to me although i know they are rising everywhere, im located in houston tx. we have currently chose a champions home but are in the midst of getting specific pricing, did you guys negotiate that? where did you guys purchase your manufactured home and how much are you guys paying? sorry in advance if i am all over the place l.

Comments (13)

• millworkman
    last year

Interest rates on double wide manufactured homes are considerably typically higher than a normal house, on top of the fact that the value plummets very quickly.

• Ally De
    last year
    last modified: last year

Agree with millworkman. If it were me, I'd look for a nice little stick-built starter home - something where sweat equity can really work in your favor. That's exactly what I did with my first house. I came from almost nothing, but worked my butt off and what I got out of that first house set me on my way.

• booty bums
    last year

Do not, under any circumstances, buy a new manufactured home.

You want real estate to appreciate in value, and mobile homes are guaranteed to lose value.

Instead, you should do 1 of the following...

- Build a modest stick-built house

- Buy a cheap pre-owned mobile home that has already experienced significant depreciation

• cpartist
    last year

The best thing you could do is buy a small stick built older house that needs cosmetic updating in a decent neighborhood. That will appreciate. A double wide will not.

• mxk3 z5b_MI
    last year