Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
daninthedirt

gave my garlic a haircut today

daninthedirt (USDA 9a, HZ9, CentTX, Sunset z30, Cfa)
29 days ago
last modified: 29 days ago

This is my first year seriously growing garlic. They were put in in November, and the plants are now large, more than two feet tall. But many of the older, broad leaves are brown and dry. There are many bright green long thin-shaft leaves/shoots popping up alongside the green broad older leaves. I've trimmed off all the brown/dead leaves. Maybe unnecessary, but the plants certainly don't need them anymore, and the bed just looks cleaner. But this is totally unlike the onions, just adjacent to them, that are completely green, and bulbing beautifully. Is this normal behavior for garlic, where leaves just start dying long before maturity?

Comments (14)

• gardengrl66 z5
    29 days ago

I grow garlic every year (different zone to be sure). I wonder if those thinner leaves your describe are the "scapes" coming up? That usually precedes the bulbing by a few weeks. With our garlic you don't see the bulbs like you do with onions, they are deeper under the ground and the only way to tell is to pull a plant, and see how it looks. Fortunately whatever is under ground at this point will taste like garlic and so not all is lost by pulling a "test" plant!

• theforgottenone1013 (SE MI zone 5b/6a)
    28 days ago

Any chance you can share a pic? I'm having a hard time imagining your "many bright green long thin-shaft leaves/shoots" description. Garlic plants grow a single stalk with newer leaves emerging higher up on the stalk. If new leaves are popping up at the base of the plant or from below soil level then it makes me wonder if your bulbs had already divided and are now resprouting.

Rodney

28 days ago