Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kimobrien1

Roof Framing Looks Worrisome

Kim O'Brien
15 days ago

This passed framing inspection. Should I be worried? Or no?

Comments (12)

• PRO
    Mark Bischak, Architect
    15 days ago

Is this a remodeling or addition to an existing home?

• PRO
    Kim O'Brien
    Original Author
    14 days ago

An addition

• T T
    14 days ago

I'm not an expert, but for those beams that have a metal simpson bracket on them, I would think the other end of the beams should also have a simpson bracket. The key thing with those brackets is that they use the right number and size of nails.

• AnnKH
    14 days ago

I am not a contractor, but I built a deck last summer. I don't think our building inspector would have been happy with that, but I don't have experience with roof framing. And YES to the nails! Our neighbors also built a deck last summer, and they did not pass framing inspection until every joist hanger had 10 nails.

• PRO
    Joseph Corlett, LLC
    14 days ago

It isn't pretty, but your house isn't going to fall down. If the framer's got an inspection approval, you don't have much of a case.

• T T
    14 days ago

If you're concerned, you could get a structural engineer to look at it. Did an engineer approve the plans? It would be best to have the engineer who approved the plans come take a look to confirm if it matches what's needed.

• PRO
    Kim O'Brien
    Original Author
    13 days ago

A structural engineer designed the roof plan. I’m more concerned with the execution of the plan than the plan itself

• PRO
    Mark Bischak, Architect
    13 days ago

You have nothing to worry about; but next time you go out to eat, order dessert first.

To alleviate any concern, take millworkman's advice.

• rockybird
    13 days ago